The window is too large for my monitor

Installation, supported revisions
admin
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:23 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by admin » Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:30 am

Which Ubuntu Version are you using.. do you use any composite manager and which graphic card are you using

gitas
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:59 pm

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by gitas » Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:17 pm

Ubuntu GG (7.10) with all official updates. Composite manager?
Graphic card: nVidia GeForce 7300 (nvidia restricted drivers installed)
Runing on : Asus F3Tc

admin
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:23 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by admin » Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:16 am

Composite is needed for those fancy 3d effects...

gitas
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:59 pm

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by gitas » Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:26 pm

You mean Beryl? Compiz fusion? no I dont use that...

admin
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:23 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by admin » Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:39 pm

My Ubuntu 7.10 installation has the same problem, and a few more. Setup is Gutsy, KDE, 1280x1024 17" monitor. The window overflows to the right, about to the edge of the tree area. Moving the window to see that area mashes the display of text, icons and drawing, allthough there are lots of ways of forcing a refresh to clean it up. Actually lots of operations mash the displays, particularly text windows. You need to use a jump scroll on scroll bars, don't try to pull the scroll cursor with the mouse.

The standard text font for tool-tips is too small too read, and low contrast to boot, but I cannot change it because I only have a personal licence which comes without the xresources file.

Increaing the size of the icons by 33% has improved their appearance but they are still too confused to rely on them and I have to wait for the tool-tip to come up, which slows work down quite dramatically.

When a sheet first comes up it occupies the whole of the drawing area, but after the first zoom operation the top 15% and the bottom 15% are always clipped off. The result is that the drawing only has about 40% of the screen area, which isn't really enough.

Another problem is that messages always go the the originating tty shell, not to the area they are supposed to in the Medusa window. I alway want to see what an "Auto" probe really did, so a little bit of that window needs to be visible too.

On the positive side the core of Medusa hasn't changed much in the 15 years since I last used it, so the learning curve is confined to "hunt the icon" rather than learning it from scratch. :)


Mike

swarf-rat
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:50 am

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by swarf-rat » Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:29 pm

does anyone have a solution?? i have the same problem

Dell Inspiron 1100
Ubuntu 6.06lts
Gnome
Intel810 video chipset 1024x768 res

attached screeshot
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (61.32 KiB) Viewed 3351 times

swarf-rat
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:50 am

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by swarf-rat » Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:48 pm

Does ANYBODY have a suggestion on how to fix this???

HELP PLEASE

:'( :'(

swarf-rat
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:50 am

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by swarf-rat » Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:42 pm

Come on.................. Does anyone from MEDUSA4 watch these forums?? It would seem like a good idea if it were my product! I guess I'll just have to find another CAD product to use! :'(

simong
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:14 pm

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by simong » Mon Sep 15, 2008 5:36 pm

As far as I am aware the minmum resolution required for MEDUSA is 1280x1024 so I am afraid you will not get it to fit on 1024x768.

diceco474
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:47 pm

The window is too large for my monitor

Post by diceco474 » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:31 am

I just started using Medusa4 Personal on a Dell Dimension 4500 machine with Ubuntu 8.1. I was able to get the whole screen filled by going to 1280 x 960 resolution on an old Sony 19" CRT.

diceco

Post Reply